Recipes

An Easter Party Menu

Guys, I had an Easter party this past weekend, and there is only one picture as evidence. It’s not even of the food. No, it’s just of a baby gnawing a carrot. Turns out handing our kid a plain old carrot provides huge entertainment value. Who would have guessed!

20170408_134246

In any case, I thought I would share our menu since I was really pleased with the ease and result of everything we made. In the past I have made a really delicious ham from a butt portion of fully cooked ham that you cook in the slow cooker until it shreds like pulled pork. This year I decided to up the ante with a better quality spiral sliced ham from Whole Foods that was nitrate and antibiotic free. I MIGHT be justifying myself here, but I think it was worth the extra money.

Without further ado, I will share the recipes we used:

Slow Cooker Honey Glazed Ham
Healthy-ish Scalloped Potatoes
-Navy Beans (We did these in the pressure cooker. Follow the ratio of 6 cups water, 1 cup dried navy beans, 1 teaspoon olive oil, and 1 bay leaf. Soak the beans for at least 8 hours. Add some chopped carrot, onion, celery, salt and pepper to your uncooked beans. Set at high pressure for 28 minutes. If you want to eat the beans as a side, drain a bit before serving so they are not too soupy)
Easiest and Tastiest Carrots Ever

Of everything we made, people really seemed to love the carrots. I never used to like cooked carrots, but this recipe changed my mind. Cook’s Illustrated doesn’t have the recipe online, so I will quickly share it:

1 lb peeled carrots cut into 1.5-2 inch lengths. Do your best to make sure they are all of a similar size.
2 tsp salt
1 tbs unsalted butter cut into 4 pieces
1 tsp lemon juice
1/8 tsp pepper
1 tbs chives

Bring two cups of water to boil. Add carrots and salt, cover and cook until tender, around 6 minutes. Start the timer right when carrots go in the water.

Drain carrots and return to hot saucepan. Add the butter, lemon, and pepper. Stir in chives when the butter is melted.

In case anyone is still meal planning for the weekend I hope this helps someone =)

Leave a Reply

