Capsule Wardrobe · DIY

Cleaning with Thieves + Capsule Closet Day 18

br Remember when I said yesterday that I am becoming more aware of how things fit (or don’t) fit? Well, this jacket is a perfect example of that. It’s a more or less brand new Banana Republic jacket I got from my favorite thrift shop, and as hard as I try, it just never pairs right with anything else! So even though it’s only a few months old I am using this as a learning opportunity and it’s gone from the closet. Woot for selectivity!

day-18I switched in a different shruggy sweater today to replace it, and wore it along with flared jeans and my awesome gray nursing top. Now, on to more interesting things: THIEVES.

It’s such a “mom thing” to jump on the essential oil train, but it’s hard not to be curious when it seems like the whole world is using them and posting about it on Facebook. Since our baby started crawling and regularly dropping things on the floor, the impulse to get things clean but not toxic is strong.

The research I’ve done seems to indicate that the Thieves blend of oil has germ killing properties, and I figure we don’t want our house too clean, because Ollie has to build an immune system somehow! I’ve been using the below mix (read more here) and putting one drop of Thieves per ounce of filtered water in these nice spray bottles I got on Amazon. This inexpensive set includes all the oils you need to get started!

  • 20 drops clove essential oil
  • 18 drops lemon essential oil
  • 10 drops cinnamon bark essential oil
  • 8 drops eucalyptus essential oil
  • 5 drops rosemary essential oil

spray-bottleSo far I’ve cleaned all our floors with this solution, sprayed it on toys that have spent time on the floor, and wiped down the baby’s play mat that our pets also like to sit on. It’s worth a shot if you’re looking to go more natural at home!

Leave a Reply

